Saturday 3 December 2016

  • 7:30 pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 5924

We are sorry to announce that piano soloist Alexander Ullman is indisposed and no longer able to play in this concert. We wish him all the best and are grateful to Mikhail Shilyaev for stepping in.

ELGAR Cockaigne Overture Op.40
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15
RACHMANINOV Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 13

John Andrews – conductor
Mikhail Shilyaev – piano

For its second concert of the season, Trinity Orchestra is once again delighted to be performing under John Andrews in a varied programme of English, German and Russian works.

The concert opens with Edward Elgar’s famous imaginative depiction of a bustling London Town, and is followed by a performance of Brahms‘ sublime First Piano Concerto given by the renowned Russian pianist Mikhail Shilyaev, a former Junior Fellow at the Royal College of Music. Arguably the first of the great tradition of Romantic piano concerti, this work has sometimes, justifiably, been described as a symphony for piano and orchestra because the two bodies are given equal importance.

The final work will be the Symphony No. 1 by Rachmaninov. Despite its poor initial reception the symphony is now seen as a dynamic representation of the Russian symphonic tradition – a powerful work in its own right, influenced by Borodin and Tchaikovsky, but still individual and finely constructed.

Join us for a pre-concert talk at 7pm.

Fazioli Grand Piano kindly supplied by Jaques Samuel Pianos, London



Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Students £5, Under 18s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, including parking, public transport and access information, please visit How to Find Us