Saturday 1 February 2020

  • 7:30 pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 592

STRAVINSKY The Firebird Suite (1945)
COPLAND Clarinet Concerto
ARNOLD Symphony No. 5

John Andrews – conductor
Matt Glendening – clarinet

John Andrews, Trinity Orchestra’s dynamic Music Director, takes up the baton to bring to life a truly exciting and varied programme of 20th-century orchestral works.

Igor Stravinsky’s Suite from his ballet The Firebird is a work that proved to be a major breakthrough both with the public and the critics, and one which secured Stravinsky’s position as Diaghilev’s star ballet composer.

Matt Glendening, an exciting emerging talent, is soloist in Aaron Copland’s evocative and often jazzy Clarinet Concerto, which was commissioned and premiered by Benny Goodman in 1950.

Somewhat underrated as a symphonic composer, Malcolm Arnold wrote his Symphony No. 5, completed in 1961, in remembrance of four of his friends who died too young. This profoundly emotional work full of conflict, irony and anguish, paints a picture of a dark and complex world.

Join us for a pre-concert talk at 7pm.


Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Students £5, Under 18s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, including parking, public transport and access information, please visit How to Find Us