Saturday 31 January 2015

  • 7:30 pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 5924

MOZART Symphony No. 41 in C major K. 551, ‘Jupiter’
BRUCKNER Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major

Michael Alexander Young – conductor

For Trinity Orchestra’s first concert of 2015, under guest conductor Michael Alexander Young, we pair two towering, contrasting symphonies from different periods.

Mozart’s ever-popular masterpiece the ‘Jupiter’ Symphony was the composer’s last symphony, and it is considered to be his most well-crafted and joyous, full of exuberant themes. It was described by the late Claudio Abbado as “one of Mozart’s greatest creations. The finale has all these ideas superimposed, bursting out, one after the other, like fireworks.”

The second work in this concert is the magnificent Symphony No 4, subtitled the ‘Romantic’, by Anton Bruckner. This work is regarded as the composer’s first real masterpiece and its premiere was a triumph, with Bruckner taking a bow after each movement!  The symphony is at times pastoral in character and, at other times, expansive and robust, containing moments of great beauty in its slowly unfurling musical themes.

Join us for a pre-concert talk at 7pm through which you can learn more about the evening’s music.



Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Students £5, Under 16s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
Book online:
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, including parking, public transport and access information, please visit How to Find Us