Saturday 23 March 2019

  • 7:30 pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 592

MENDELSSOHN The Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave)
SPOHR Clarinet Concerto No. 4
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7

Gonzalo Acosta – conductor
Colin Lawson – clarinet

We are delighted to welcome back distinguished clarinettist Colin Lawson CBE, Director of the Royal College of Music and good friend of Trinity Orchestra, to perform the sparkling Clarinet Concerto No. 4 by Louis Spohr under the baton of guest conductor Gonzalo Acosta.

The orchestra will also perform the Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave) by Felix Mendelssohn. This ever-popular work was written in 1829, after Mendelssohn took a memorable trip to the Scottish Island of Staffa and its famous Fingal’s Cave. On the journey he wrote the first few bars of what became the Hebrides Overture on a postcard to his sister saying “how extraordinarily the Hebrides affected me”.

Ending the evening will be the glorious Symphony No. 7 by Ludwig Van Beethoven. The work was premiered, with Beethoven himself conducting, in Vienna on 8 December 1813. Described by Wagner as “the apotheosis of the dance”, this four-movement symphony begins in a sombre fashion but ends exuberantly. The finale was apparently summed up by Tchaikovsky as ‘a whole series of images, full of unrestrained joy, full of bliss and pleasure of life’.

Join us for a pre-concert talk at 7pm.


Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Students £5, Under 18s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, including parking, public transport and access information, please visit How to Find Us