Saturday 22 March

  • 7:30pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 5924

GRIEG Funeral March
DUKAS Fanfare La Peri
R STRAUSS Serenade for Wind Instruments op 7
ELGAR Sospiri
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 1

Michael Murray – conductor

Brass, Strings & Wind Extravaganza

Trinity Orchestra and conductor Michael Murray present a delightfully varied concert of works by some of the greatest European composers of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Grieg’s Funeral March (a deeply moving piece composed in honour of his friend and fellow Norwegian composer Rikard Nordraak) and the fanfare to Dukas’ 1914 ballet La Peri will showcase the orchestra’s brass players, before the spotlight moves to our excellent wind section for the evocative Serenade op 7 by Richard Strauss, whose 150th anniversary is celebrated this year. Written when the composer was only 17, this melodious music is full of his youthful vitality.

Audiences will also be treated to two exquisite string works by British composers – Vaughan Williams’ mystically sonorous Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus, and Elgar’s sublimely enchanting Sospiri – before all players join forces for Sibelius’ exhilarating First Symphony.

Join conductor Michael Murray for a free pre-concert talk at 7pm, through which you can learn more about the evening’s music.



Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Under 16s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
Book online:
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, please visit How to Find Us


Photo © James Burwell