Sat 18 May 2024

Saturday 18 May 2024
Concert 7.30pm | Pre-concert talk 7pm
St Edmund’s Church, Pinner Road, Northwood, HA6 1QS

FARRENC Overture No. 1 in E minor
TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto, Op. 35
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 6 in D major, Op. 60

Trinity Orchestra
Leader: Marina Solarek
Violin soloist: Fenella Humphreys

It is only in the 21st century, with the long-overdue revival of interest in women composers, that Louise Farrenc’s music is finally entering the repertoire. She wrote two dramatic concert overtures in 1834,  the second of which is performed tonight.

Following this is Tchaikovsky’s ever-popular Violin Concerto, for which Trinity Orchestra is delighted to welcome back soloist Fenella Humphreys. With playing described in the press as “alluring”, “unforgettable” and “a wonder”, Fenella is one of the UK’s most established and versatile violinists.

Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 6 is the music of sunny Bohemian pastures. Warm, effortlessly flowing melodies meet the fiery, exuberant rhythms of a Czech folk dance. A sense of blissful, bucolic grandeur permeates the entire Symphony. As the biographer Otakar Sourek noted, the symphony “breathes the sweet fragrance and unspoiled beauty of Czech woods and meadows.”

Join us for a free pre-concert talk at 7pm.


Tickets: £15 adults, £12 concessions, students £5, under 18s free
Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
At the door (subject to availability)

Please note a 10% booking fee applies to online bookings

Book Online