Saturday 17 November 2018

  • 7:30 pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 592

ARNOLD Four Scottish Dances
SMYTH Concerto for Violin and Horn
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS A London Symphony (No. 2)

Hannah Quinn – conductor
Kamila Bydlowska – violin
Anna Drysdale – horn

Trinity Orchestra presents a riveting programme of English music under the baton of up-and-coming conductor Hannah Quinn.

The centrepiece, celebrating the role of women in music and the centenary of the first British women winning the vote, will be a performance of Ethel Smyth’s beautiful but rarely performed Concerto for Violin and Horn, featuring two superb soloists – Kamila Bydlowska (violin) and Anna Drysdale (horn). Anna was born and bred in Harrow.

Before this there’s the chance to enjoy the lively and witty Four Scottish Dances by Malcolm Arnold, a light music work which consists of four movements inspired by, as the name suggests, Scottish country folk tunes and dances.

Concluding the concert will be a performance of A London Symphony, an atmospheric masterpiece by the celebrated English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams. It is dedicated to Vaughan Williams’ friend and fellow composer George Butterworth who was subsequently killed by a sniper at the Somme during World War I. This epic, sprawling work shows inventiveness, mystery and vitality and uses a wonderfully colourful orchestral palette.

Join us for a pre-concert talk at 7pm.


Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Students £5, Under 18s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, including parking, public transport and access information, please visit How to Find Us