Saturday 30 September 2017

  • 7:30 pm
  • Trinity Church, Harrow HA1 1RX
  • 020 8428 5924

TCHAIKOVSKY Capriccio Italien
BIZET Symphony No. 2 in C major, Roma
BERLIOZ Harold in Italy

John Andrews – conductor
Rebecca Chambers – viola

Our brand-new season gets off to an exciting start with a programme of works on an Italian theme.

Let us transport you to this most romantic of countries under the baton of our Music Director, John Andrews. There will be music by Tchaikovsky – his exuberant Capriccio Italien – and Bizet‘s sparkling and underrated Roma Symphony.

The concert will finish with a performance of Berlioz’s evocative Harold in Italy. For this work – which is, in effect, a viola concerto – we are delighted to welcome the outstanding soloist Rebecca Chambers, Co-Principal Viola at the Orchestra of English National Opera. Berlioz loved the poems of Byron, especially his Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage (1818), and this inspired him to imagine the viola soloist as the travelling observer, Harold. It has come to be considered one of his finest compositions.

Join us for a pre-concert talk at 7pm.


Tickets: £12 adults, £10 concessions, Students £5, Under 18s free

Book by phone: 020 8428 5924
At the door (subject to availability)

Book Online

For details of how to get to the concert venue, including parking, public transport and access information, please visit How to Find Us